Two British Asian nominees get elevated to the House of Lords

Aamer Sarfraz is a social entrepreneur and national conservative party treasurer.
Aamer Sarfraz is a social entrepreneur and national conservative party treasurer.

TWO British-Asian men are on the list of 36 candidates who have been named House of Lords.

While Aamer A. Sarfraz, a social entrepreneur and Conservative Treasurer, was on the list of dissolution peerages, academic Prem Sikka was nominated by former Labor leader Jeremy Corbyn.

Sarfraz is a venture partner at Draper Associates, a leading venture capital fund in Silicon Valley. In 2018 he was named in the Silicon Valley Business JournalList "40 under 40".

He is a consultant to the Conservative Party for Public Relations and has also been involved in social welfare initiatives.

Sarfraz is also the founder of Better Grain, an Agritech company that supports thousands of small farmers in Asia and focuses specifically on technology-oriented farming systems.

Sikka is a professor of accounting at the University of Sheffield and emeritus professor at the University of Essex.

In 2018, he had conducted a study commissioned by Labor to analyze the pay of top managers and recommended that the remuneration at the top of around 7,000 large companies should be subject to an annual mandatory vote.

Other striking candidates were the Prime Minister's younger brother, Jo Johnson, and former English cricket captain Ian Botham.

Jo Johnson resigned as junior minister last year because he disagreed with his older sibling Boris Johnson's Brexit strategy when he supported staying in the European Union in the 2016 referendum.

File photo of the Prime Minister (then MP) and former English test cricketer Sir Ian Botham OBE, who visits the Chester-Le-Street Cricket Club as part of the Brexit tour on May 30, 2016. (Photo: Ian Forsyth / Getty Images)

In another obvious olive branch to cure the Brexit divisions within his Conservative Party, the Prime Minister appointed ex-Chancellor Philip Hammond, a prominent leftover who has long been the target of attacks by Brexit supporters.

Botham, who was regarded by many fans as one of the best all-rounders in the 1980s, has reportedly been recognized for his enthusiastic Brexit campaign.

Most political nominations tended to be Brexit, with ex-Labor Labor lawmakers Kate Hoey and Gisela Stuart, who became passionate Brexiters during Johnson's referendum, given peerages.

Another notable nomination that caused a stir was that of Evgeny Lebedev, the British-Russian owner of the Evening standard and Independently Newspapers. He is the son of Alexander Lebedev, a former KGB agent who became an oligarch.

Lebedev, who has spent most of his life in the UK, is often seen in high society circles in London, where he works as a charity and art patron. He controversially appointed the former conservative chancellor George Osborne, who had no experience in journalism, as editor of the Evening standard in 2017.

The House of Lords has more than 800 members, and despite constant complaints that the number is far too high and the nomination process is opaque and prone to cronyism, Prime Ministers have enthusiastically increased its number on all sides.


Dissolution peerages

Nominations from the Chairman of the Conservative Party:

  1. Sir Henry Bellingham – recently a MP for North West Norfolk and

former State Secretary for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs.

  1. Rt Hon Kenneth Clarke CH QC – most recently Rushcliffe and MP

former Chancellor of the Exchequer.

  1. Rt Hon Ruth Davidson MSP – Member of the Scottish Parliament for Edinburgh

Central and former leader of the Scottish Conservative Party.

  1. Rt Hon Philip Hammond – recently MP for Runnymede and

Weybridge and former Chancellor of the Exchequer.

  1. Rt Hon Nicholas Herbert CBE – recently MP for Arundel and South

Downs and former Secretary of State for Police and Criminal Justice.

  1. Rt Hon Joseph Johnson – recently MP for Orpington and Minister of

State for universities, science, research and innovation.

  1. Colonel Rt Hon John Mark Lancaster TD VR – recently deputy for

North East Milton Keynes and Secretary of the Armed Forces.

  1. Rt Hon Sir Patrick McLoughlin CH – a recent MP for Derbyshire

Dales, former Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster and Chairman of the Conservative


  1. Aamer Sarfraz – Treasurer of the Conservative Party and risk partner at Draper Associates.
  2. Rt Hon Edward Vaizey – recently a MP for Wantage and a former minister

Minister of State for Culture, Communication and Creative Industries.

Nominations for the Labor Party Chairman:

  1. Kathryn Clark – former MP for North Ayrshire and Arran.
  2. Brinley Davies – Director of Union Pension Services Ltd.

Nomination for the leader of the Democratic Unionist Party:

  1. Rt Hon Nigel Dodds OBE – recently a North Belfast MP and alternate

Leader of the Democratic Unionist Party.

Nominations for unrelated peerages

  1. Rt Hon Frank Field – a recent Birkenhead MP and Chairman of the

Selection committee for work and pensions.

  1. Catharine Hoey – recently Vauxhall MP and former chair of the

Northern Ireland Affairs Committee.

  1. Ian Austin – recently a MP for Dudley North and a former MP

State Secretary for Municipalities and Local Government.

  1. Rt Hon Gisela Stuart – Chairman of Wilton Park and former MP for

Birmingham Edgbaston.

  1. John Woodcock – British Special Representative for Combating Violent Extremism and Former Member of the Barrow and Furness.

Resolution honors 2019


Philip May

For the political service

Cllr Raymond Puddifoot MBE

For services to the London district of Hillingdon

Political peerages

Nominations from the Chairman of the Conservative Party:

  1. Lorraine Fullbrook – former MP for South Ribble.
  2. Sir Edward Udny-Lister – chief adviser to the Prime Minister and former

Deputy Mayor of London.

  1. Daniel Moylan – Chairman of Urban Design London and former member of Kensington

and Chelsea Council.

  1. Andrew Sharpe OBE – Chairman of the National Conservative Convention and Vice Chairman of the Policy Forum.
  2. Michael Spencer – Chairman of IPGL (Holdings) Ltd and Center for Policy Studies.
  3. Veronica Wadley CBE – Chair of the Expert Panel on Model Music Curriculum and

former editor of the Evening standard.

  1. James Wharton – Former State Secretary for International

Development and MP for Stockton South.

  1. Dame Helena Morrissey – financier and activist, independent non-executive

Director at St. James Place and founder of the 30% club

  1. Neil Mendoza – Provost of Oriel College and non-executive board member of

Department of Digital, Culture, Media and Sport.

Nominations from the former Labor Party leader

  1. Susan Hayman – recently a MP for Workington.
  2. Prem Sikka – Professor of Accounting at the University of Sheffield.
  3. Anthony Woodley – former General Secretary of Unite.

Nominations for unrelated peerages

  1. Claire Fox – director and founder of the Institute of Ideas.
  2. Charles Moore – journalist and biographer.

Crossbench Peerages nominations

  1. Sir Ian Botham – cricket commentator and chairman of the Durham County Cricket Club.
  2. Dame Louise Casey – Former official who attended King’s College in London

and co-founder and chair of the Institute of Global Homelessness.

  1. Evgeny Lebedev – owner of The independent, the evening standard and London Live

and patron of space for giants.

  1. Dame Nemat (Minouche) Shafik, director of the London School of Economics and Political Science.

Source link

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.